Millicent one of Five Finalists for AG Town of the Year

26 Aug 2019

Millicent has been named as one of five finalist towns for the inaugural Agricultural Town of the Year award.


The award is an initiative of the State Government to recognise towns demonstrating excellence across primary industries.

As a finalist, the story of Millicent will be shared by South Australia’s independent news channel InDaily and across various digital channels. The five finalists will also be featured in SA Life magazine later this year.

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development Tim Whetstone has sent his congratulations to the Millicent community and has thanked everyone that put in the effort to nominate their town. A total of 43 nominations were received, with this year’s finalists showcasing the diversity of South Australia’s regions and agricultural activities.

"The stories of these towns really paint a picture of the agricultural innovation, diversity, leadership and community spirit that exists within them," said Minister Whetstone.

The winner of the Agricultural Town of the Year is to be decided by an independent judging panel and will be announced at the South Australian Regional Showcase on 11 October.

The five finalist towns are Cleve, Kapunda, Langhorne Creek, Millicent and Renmark.